Are We Chefs or Cooks?

The Late Night Gourmet

Home kook
Staff member
Local time
6:30 PM
Website
absolute0cooking.com
I could have sworn a topic like this was posted already. But, if it is, I can't find it. So, let's start the discussion here.

A year or so after I started taking cooking seriously, I recall doing something cool with a particular recipe. I can't recall what that thing was, but I do recall that it was clever, and it worked beautifully. At that moment, I found myself thinking

I'm not just a cook anymore; I'm a chef!

I think I decided this because the sophistication of what I did was well beyond what an average cook might have done (and well beyond what I'd ever imagined doing myself).

Now, I can't help but laugh at that. I've grown so much as a cook in the years since then, and one of the things I've realized is this:

I am NOT a chef!

I came to that conclusion after doing a lot of research on the topic. The "research", of course, meant googling other discussion forums that went over the same topic (maybe this is why I thought we talked about this here). My reasons for concluding that I'm not a chef are these:
  • No one pays me to cook for them
  • I am not otherwise employed in any sort of charitable use of my cooking (as someone working at a soup kitchen would be, even though they volunteer their services).
  • I never attended a culinary institute.
No matter how good I might get as a home cook, I am simply not a chef because of those things, and I will never be unless the above changes.

Actually, now that I recall, that last point was what helped make my mind up: I talked to a woman who was about to graduate from a culinary institute. She said something along the lines of "...and, after I graduate, I can start calling myself a chef." She certainly had far better credentials than anything I've ever had.