Biking and baking

Wandering Bob

Über Member
Local time
3:47 PM
Biking and baking - two pleasurable leisure activities. I've been baking bread and cakes since the 1980s but it's only fairly recently, after re-discovering the joys of cycling, that I've managed to combine these two sensory delights.

At home after a long ride, I get even more enjoyment than usual from eating whatever I've baked - the physical effort expended has stimulated the taste buds, or perhaps it's just prolonged exposure to fresh air? If I've planned properly, the enjoyment of a long ride can also be enhanced by scoffing an 'in-flight snack' (sugar booster).

If I'm going out on the bike for 3 or 4 hours, apart from ensuring I've got enough fluids, I usually only carry a banana, some dates and perhaps an energy bar. Energy bar? I reckon the energy expended in trying to unwrap it far outweighs any benefit I get from having eaten it. But that's probably just my fumbling incompetence.

On longer rides (5 to 7 hours) I've found that I really need something more substantial to help sustain the effort. Here are three of my current 'long-haul' favourites (I try and carry a bit of one of these on all my long runs):

Cornbread - I first discovered this bread/cake back in the 1980s when I was travelling in the US. It's taken me more than 30 years to knock together a workable recipe but I've finally done it. It's slightly sweet and quite heavy so I don't need much - a smallish rectangle of this is enough to give me a lift.

Pear & vanilla cake - this is a variant of the French Quatre Quart cake. I use a conference pear - it cooks as part of the baking process - so not too hard or too soft. If I've got it right, the end-result is 'melt in the mouth' pear suffused with the flavour of vanilla. And believe me, it tastes just perfect after a few hours' of riding.