Bonjour from Brittany

Wandering Bob

Über Member
Local time
9:53 PM
Hello fellow Biters,

I'm a retired Brit living in the depths of the Brittany countryside. I've been making bread since the 1980s and now that I have more time on my hands, I'm making simple cakes too, along with plenty of other food. I enjoy merging my experiences of eating & cooking European cuisines in different countries (notably Italy & Slovenia) with more local traditional Breton fare, as well as getting inspiration/suggestions from some of my 'foody' neighbours.

I look forward to finding some new ideas in this forum as well as having the chance to share with you some of my own successes/experiments.

I'm a very keen solo cyclist too. I don't know if this the right place to write about 'biking & baking' but I'll have a go (unless I'm told not to). I did write a few threads on Cycle Chat but the interest level there was pretty low.

Hello @Wandering Bob. Welcome to our friendly forum :welcome:. Bread making is something that interests quite a few of us here (myself included). I've been meaning to make a sourdough culture now for several years and still haven't done so - but I do bake bread most weeks. Have you ever made sourdough?

We are much lower volume than CycleChat but consequently we mostly all get to know each other, which is great! You can be assured that you will get replies to any thread you start here. We usually have a few challenges running but at at the moment we only have one (which happens to have bread as a theme) -
The CookingBites Recipe Challenge: Bread. The deadline is tomorrow though! However, I'm about to launch a new Prize Challenge - so watch this space...

You can tell us what you cooked or ate today on the regular thread What did you cook or eat today (July 2018)? (we love photos). or feel free to join in wherever you like. Above all, have fun here.

I do bake bread most weeks. Have you ever made sourdough?