Budget meals

rubydust

Veteran
Local time
4:36 AM
I'm a student and have two children. I'm struggling with my budget at the moment and need some help.

I live in a small town with only one small, expensive supermarket. Buying food is becoming a problem as my budget is really stretched. Fresh fruit is very expensive but I don't want to scrimp on that. I'm trying to cook meals from scratch as I'm told it works out cheaper this way, and obviously it's healthier too.

There must be others here on a tight budget. How do you manage to keep your food costs down? Do you have any tips on how to feed a family on a tight budget?

head over to lentils, pulses, rice and pasta for your diet. they are cheap, bulky and easy to cook. dried are the cheapest but try to go with the wholewheat pasta and brown rice because it is better for you and if you can, stay away from the canned beans and pulses and cook your own from dried. Easier and cheaper in the long run and much less salt in your diet that way.

bulking dishes out with vegetables and pulses,batch cooking dishes i.e. mince a bolagnaise can be used twice ,with pasta and lasagna cheese sauce with the lasagna could be used for cauliflower cheese,a piece of freshly cooked ham costs less in the long run as you can use it for sandwiches .trimmings in pasta,
loads rice dishes are cheap,i.e. chicken or veg risotto any left overs can be turned into arancini,
good luck

Eggs are gonna be your best friend. You can make them in SO many different ways (not just the old scrambled/over easy etc either) and they're pretty cheap as far as protein goes. I'd say get pasta or rice, whichever is cheaper, because they're both incredibly versatile. Oats is good too, for breakfast and snacks throughout the day.