Chicken question

Puggles

Veteran
Local time
3:39 AM
Hello from Detroit!

I enjoy cooking and have since I was able to learn from watching my mom as a little boy, so I have a lot of experience but no formal training. I'm like the "Hendrix" of cooking. I can follow recipes and like making my own versions of things.

I have a question about chicken that I just don't understand. Are there different kinds of chicken that you can buy in the store? I don't mean chicken recipes. I mean the already butchered chicken that you buy from the grocery store?

I ask this because when I buy chicken in the sealed packages (like a dozen drumsticks, or assorted pieces, leg, thigh, breast etc.) I always get a very low yield of the amount that is actually edible. I'm not referring to cooking incorrect and not being able to eat it because I overcooked it or stuff like that. It seems more like there is just a lot of tendons and cartilage and stuff you can't eat and there is very little meat on each piece.

I only get about a 50% yield from each piece (if I'm lucky) and I have to throw the rest away from it being inedible.

Everywhere I go to eat anything chicken (restaurants, fast food etc.) I can eat it as if it were ribs, 90% yield, down to the bone, but that's never the case when I buy chicken and cook it myself. The chicken I can buy from the grocery store always seems to be a great price for what you get. Is this like fake chicken or something?

So back to my question, am I buying some type of bargain type of chicken? I always thought chicken was chicken and the only difference is how you prepare it, or the recipe you use as if it was a "ubiquitous" meat.

Is there a certain "type" that I have to ask for that is only available upon request or something?