Cooking sausages

epicuric

Legendary Member
Local time
2:13 PM
OK, I've been cooking sausages for quite a few years now, but I really haven't mastered the process. When I was young I remember them being pan fried, juicy and succulent with crispy bits of the sausage meat that had oozed out of the ends. They are the same at food fairs when tasting samples are being cooked. I can not achieve this at home without fat spitting everywhere, no matter which pan/oil/temp combination I try, so I end up cooking them in the oven for an easy life. I find this dries them out though.

Does anyone have any tips on cooking the perfect pan fried sausage?

Firstly, do not break the skin/casing.

A lot of people fork their sausages to help them cook through, but that only helps the fat inside to leach out as it renders.

Secondly, use a cast iron skillet or a charcoal/gas grill. Something that can get hot enough to cause the sausage to properly brown.

Finally, do not overcrowd the pan, nor cover the pan in which the sausage is cooking. That will only serve to steam them rather than cook in a more dry heat.

Well now, you see, this taps in to the whole discussion about the almost straight dichotomy that there is between that which is nice and that which is healthy.

I have often mentioned here the problem I have with dishes that I would like to make but have the difficulty that my wife will object to them on the grounds of them being unhealthy. It might then be a surprise, a contradiction, a little slice of human reality for me to record, that when I cook sausages I tend to grill them. It is my wife who objects to how dry they are when you grill them and insists on pan frying them.

But if you do grill them, have you seen just how much fat runs off them – even if you don’t prick them first? And the truth is, if you fry them, you are eating all of that fat.