Deep frying Chicken

Lol well as one who always finishes brisket in the oven just call me a blasphemer. But if you have an expensive and nice fryer it seems like a pain to have to use the oven too.

The fryer is pretty nice. I would have liked to go with a 220 watt unit but I would have had to run 220 in the kitchen.
I could have tapped into the oven power but then I couldnt use the oven and the fryer at the same time so I went with a standard 120 model.
You have to take out the baskets to do larger items like chicken but the baskets are great for fries,okra and other small items.

1663794637203.png

I've been BBQing for over 30 years and I BBQed in competitions for four years so I'm kind of a purist.
It's just my nature,I try and stay true in everything I cook.
Used to have a large Pitts and Spitts smoker but it's just too big for what I do these days and it was a wood hog.

Sold it and got a Lang reverse flow. It uses way less wood and is much easier to control temps.
I heard a lot about reverse flow pits and what they say is true,it almost totally eliminates hot spots.
View attachment 90623

View attachment 90624
Pretty sweet setup! I subscribe to doing things as lazily as possible. I always wrap my brisket after smoking, and it's pointless to keep it in the smoker after I wrap it, so in the oven it goes. Mmm brisket.

Pretty sweet setup! I subscribe to doing things as lazily as possible. I always wrap my brisket after smoking, and it's pointless to keep it in the smoker after I wrap it, so in the oven it goes. Mmm brisket.

If it gets to late and I need some shut eye,which happens a lot more often now that I'm getting old, I put it in the MAK2 Star General pellet pooper. It holds temps better than an oven. And it has a remote I can set on the nightstand that'll warn me if there's a problem or when it reaches your target temp in the brisket.
Most people dont realize that ovens have up to a 60 degree temp swing or + or - 30 degrees.