Do You Measure Out Ingredients?

Diane Lane

Veteran
Local time
7:21 PM
Do you measure out ingredients exactly as described in a recipe, or do you approximate? I tend to do both, depending on whether I've used the recipe before, or it's my first time.

The first time I use a recipe, I tend to be somewhat exacting, and measure everything out exactly. But, after I've used a recipe a few times, I get a little cocky, and will sometimes eyeball the ingredients, rather than dirtying up a bunch of measuring cups and spoons.

What's your cooking style?

I can't remember when last I measured anything related to any new dish I tried. I typically don't measure stuff and for the most part I have had decent success. HOWEVER when it comes to baking that is a completely different story. I take no chances where that is concerned. They say baking is a science and for that reason, I stick closely to measurements, no mistaking.

I'm so bad about this. If I'm actually following a recipe, I usually do measure. More times than not, I skip recipes and just toss stuff in.

While it can be fun to be creative, the bad part comes when I try to recreate something or tell someone else how to make it. "About this much" as shown by the size of my hand, doesn't always cut it.

Generally I just add untill I think it is right if it is something I cook all the time. The recipe may call for two cups of sugar and I may think that is too much I will change it.

I have to cost dishes so have to calculate the cost of ingredients to make sure the correct profit on a dish can be achieved , so even though I do wing it ,I do sometimes have to calculate!

As above, anything that is baked (except for sourdough bread) then it is a follow the recipe and weigh things.