Guests at lunch/dinner .. etiquette and surroundings

MypinchofItaly

Forum GOD!
Local time
3:56 AM
Website
mypinchofitaly.co.uk
Sometimes I have guests for lunch or dinner especially during the weekend, and I really like to receive friends, parents, and relatives.
I also like to organize aperitifs, to cook and get together and especially to make them comfortable.
My home is your home.
How long before you start thinking about the menu?
I also think about how to set up the table at best, choose the wine and the cutlery or the appropriate glasses ... but knowing how to receive the guests is not always easy and I'm still learning! Of course with long-time friends or parents are simpler. But sometimes it is a stress especially if people are not known so well.
And likewise when you are invited for lunch or dinner at someone's home, what to bring? Wine? What wine? Cake? Flowers? Diamonds? :happy:
And instead, did you happen to have rude people for dinner at your home? I mean, invite someone who come with empty hands or who smokes between one and the other dish?
Or even not to be comfortable at someone's home?
I'm curious to know your experiences in these cases ...

1. I tend to invite only people I know well.
2. I typically plan a week in advance.
3. I use the only dishes and glasses and cutlery I have. If a guest didn't like my corelle plates, stainless cutlery and cheap glasses then they are more than welcome not to let the door hit them on their arse on the way back out.
4. I always ask what I could bring. It makes life much simpler. I don't want to be known as an inconsiderate person. (2 examples I have heard of, bringing a sugar laden cake to a diabetic and bringing a high end wine to a non drinkers house.)(Yes, the guest knew in both examples. )
5. On the rude people, I don't care who they are, rude in my house, see #3 and don't ever darken my doorstep again.
6. If you are not comfortable, don't accept any more invitations to their house.