Have you ever roasted broccoli?

Zyni

Veteran
Local time
9:25 PM
I just saw a recipe that included roasted broccoli. I've never tried cooking it like that before. Have you? It sounds really good to me. I mean, roasting usually brings out a lot of flavor in food, so it would have to be good, right? Well, if you like broccoli anyway, ha ha.

I don't think I have. I have seen lots of recipes for roasted brussel sprouts though so I think broccoli would be similar. I think that roasting veggies takes out some of the water, and brings their natural sweetness to the forefront, this is why people like to do it. It gives the veggies a unique and specialized taste.

When I cook broccoli, I either steam it or stir fry it. However, roasting it sounds like a good idea since that may bring out more of the flavour. I need to get back to buying broccoli though, since I am aware of its many health benefits. I was not aware that it was so loaded with Vitamin C until recently.

I have roasted broccoli and it is really quite good but you have to warch it closely because it will burn quickly. Burned broccoli isn't very good. lol
Quite right @L_B . You really have to watch it or it will burn. You can roast any vegetables, though!

Reactions: L_B
It's actually my favorite way to cool broccoli! I love just drizzling it in some olive oil and adding some salt and pepper to taste and roasting it - simple but so good! As the others have said though, you definitely need to keep an eye on it as it can go from roasted to burned preeeeettty fast!