Hello from Florida

Planethoff

Local time
9:01 PM
Hello Everyone! I just stumbled across this site and decided to stick my head in and see what's going on!

I have worked in many kitchens over the years and have held pretty much every position possible. My family heritage of restaurant work goes back as far as I have been able to trace. I currently work in IT, but my love for food and cooking is one of the primary drivers in my life.

When I left my last restaurant gig in '07, I thought I knew a lot about food, cooking, and the restaurant industry. In the last 11 years I realized how wrong I was. I am now a forever student of the culinary arts and strive to learn as much as I possibly can about different techniques, ingredients, and recipes from all over the world.

I look forward to interacting with the people in this community and sharing a love for food.

Cheers,
Hoff

Welcome to CookingBites @Planethoff :welcome:. We aim to be a friendly and supportive forum and we love new members! Please feel free free to join in our discussions or start a new thread. You could tell us what you cooked or ate today in our regular thread: What did you cook, eat or drink today (November 2018)? And we usually have some challenges running - see here: The CookingBites Challenges.

Your professional experience sounds great - I'm just a fanatical home chef but like you I'm a forever student. I hope you have fun here.

@Planethoff: I'm glad you found us! What sort of cuisine (or cuisines) do you prefer? Very interested in what you have to share.

My grandparents on my mother's side had a Polish-American restaurant and on my Father's side a Polynesian restaurant. My parent's had a basic luncheonette and family restaurant. I cut my teeth in Italian restaurants and apprenticed under an Italian chef until moving to California. There I worked with Mexican and Californian Health Foods. I also did a short stint in Spain.