How much time do you spend cooking?

Morning Glory

Obsessive cook
Staff member
Local time
5:05 AM
Now, I'm probably not normal as I'm an obsessive cook and I spend a lot of the day cooking. Or so it seems. But here is the question - when you are at home, how many hours per day do you spend making meals? This includes preparation and any checking, turning, stirring of food - but not the time when it is roasting in the oven or simmering on the hob etc.

I'm having trouble estimating this since I spend much of my waking time thinking about cooking and recipe development. But perhaps I don't really spend as much time actually cooking as I think!

I work 65+ hpurs a week, then add in 15 hours of commuting and there's not much time to cook. My wife does the cooking along with occasional help from our son. I maybe spend 20 minutes total cooking or preparing something for myself to eat.

My schedule is changing, though, so I should get at least one night off every week. I plan on spending more time cooking on that night off, about 45 minutes minimum, upwards of 4 hours if it's something special.

I assume "Cooking" includes all food prep. My schedule isn't quite as full as Tom's is, but I don't have a lot of spare time to devote to big projects. So, what I do is try to sneak in small things here and there when I can. For instance, pickling is very quick - a total of half an hour from cutting the vegetables to putting them in a jar - so I can do this whenever I want. If I'm going to grind meat - which I do a lot - I can spend some time one day cutting it into chunks and covering in seasoning, then spend time another day grinding it after it's had a chance to freeze (which I just got done doing tonight).