How often do you shop for food?

alexander

Über Member
Local time
8:49 AM
Me and my partner are very busy most weekdays and don't have much time to food shop. I do most of the cooking and pick things up on my way back from work. We often end up with a random collection of odds and sods left over to use up by the time the weekend comes round. I keep thinking I should plan menus and do one shop a week to save money and waste.

What do other people here do?

We do 1 shop every weekend for the week, I pick up bread and any fresh bits and bobs during the week if needed.

This all depends on the tourism season and long weekend holidays, which are times I travel ( I am a tour operator / guide ) and am not home ..

I do all my fresh fruit and vegetables at the main La Mercat de La Boqueria Central Market of Barcelona in Las Ramblas in the Bari Goti Neighborhood.
I also buy my fish / shellfish or chicken and beef at same .. My father fishes as well, so when he heads up on his boat with my sons, & husband and father in law, they always bring me the fresh catches ..

I purchase my beans as well as the Boqueria.

Supermarkets: All paper goods, laundry detergent etcetra. varies, perhaps 1 time a month at El Corte Inglés Hyper Market ..
Rices and Fresh & Dry Italian Pasta: I purchase these at the El Corte Ingles or Makro, a wholesaler which our family is a member of as we are all in the hospitality industry in varying professional positions ..

Bread at a friend´s bakery & pastry arts academy and wines via the wineries direct and cheeses at Boqueria or at the local tiny bio organic farms direct ..

When I am home, I go to the Market every 2 or 3 days depending on our timetables.

Good question and have a lovely evening.