Is it possible to boil egg in a microwave oven ?

Discussion in 'Kitchen Appliances, Cookware, Gadgets & Cookbooks' started by cook101, Jun 2, 2018.

1. cook101

cook101 New Member

Hi,
    I have a limited budget at the moment and I can buy a solo microwave oven only.
    I have no absolutely no knowledge of cooking.
    What I want to know is can I boil eggs in a solo microwave oven ?

Last edited: Jun 2, 2018
  2. buckytom

buckytom Senior Member

No. Not in the shell, that is.

But there are devices that can cook a shell-less egg in the nuker.

If you get a small ceramic pot with a vented lid (aka Stone Wave), you can microwave an egg in it with a tsp of water so that it comes out a bit like a poached egg.

3. cook101

cook101 New Member

Thanks for your reply. My next question is can I cook anything in a microwave ? Or is it just for heating food ?

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 3, 2018
  4. medtran49

medtran49 Senior Member

I sometimes rub a small glass pyrex type dish with a bit of butter, break an egg into it, pierce the yolk with a toothpick (it explodes if you don't), cover it loosely with plastic wrap, and microwave for 30-60 seconds depending on how done you want it.

5. cook101

cook101 New Member

Can I use your method with a solo microwave ?

6. morning glory

morning glory Obsessive cook Staff Member

What is a solo microwave? Do you mean a small microwave?

7. cook101

cook101 New Member

8. morning glory

OK - just a standard microwave then. I understand. There are quite a lot of things you can cook in a microwave and its not just for re-heating. You can cook vegetables, fish etc. Its not so good for meat.

9. morning glory

Yes, you can.

10. cook101

cook101 New Member

@morning glory
    Thanks a lot. I will be purchasing this microwave oven this weekend. Will come back with more questions.

Last edited: Jun 3, 2018
  11. morning glory