Kitchen storage unit (DT project)

Yes man

Local time
11:55 PM
Hi! I'm a design technology student and I made a kitchen storage unit for my project; could you help me review it as part of my evaluation process please?

Thank you in advance for those who replied!

IMG-2366.JPG

Hi @Yes man and welcome to CookingBites.

My first question is - where is this unit meant to be sited. You show it resting on a kitchen counter which obviously would take up valuable counter space. Wall mounted would be better perhaps?

One thing a lot of people (keen cooks) are looking for is a storage solution for spices. If the spaces on the right included pull out racks (like drawers) it would facilitate this. This could be a good idea anyway to avoid things being stored out of sight at the back of the storage spaces.

Plus points:
  • A good idea for a small kitchen.
  • Integrating a unit for frying-pans and woks, utensils and spices is an interesting concept - it could be marketed as 'wok central'!

Hi @Yes man and welcome to CookingBites.

My first question is - where is this unit meant to be sited. You show it resting on a kitchen counter which obviously would take up valuable counter space. Wall mounted would be better perhaps?

One thing a lot of people (keen cooks) are looking for is a storage solution for spices. If the spaces on the right included pull out racks (like drawers) it would facilitate this. This could be a good idea anyway to avoid things being stored out of sight at the back of the storage spaces.

Plus points:
  • A good idea for a small kitchen.
  • Integrating a unit for frying-pans and woks, utensils and spices is an interesting concept - it could be marketed as 'wok central'!
Thank you for replying!
1. I did mean it to be put on the counter but wall mounted did come on my mind-it's just that I couldn't figure out how to do that with the tools available for me to use for my coursework, but thank you for that suggestion!