The Late Night Gourmet

Home kook
Staff member
Local time
2:51 AM
Website
absolute0cooking.com
IMG_0901.JPG

I'm stunned by how many variations there are for certain mixed drinks. I am by no means an expert - I typically choose to drink a beer if I drink - but every so often something comes along that gets my attention. To be honest, this could have been just a ho-hum recipe without the right rum. If you have a crappy rum, you will end up with a crappy mojito. I grew up thinking rum was something to be diluted with Coke. But, Pilar rum is a truly magical creation: you can absolutely taste the brown sugar with every sip. It's terrific by itself, but it becomes something really special with this recipe.
img_861_1.jpg

Ingredients

2 ounces rum
10 mint leaves, torn
1 tablespoon lime juice
1 tablespoon sugar,
4 ounces club soda

Directions
  1. Grind sugar in a spice grinder until it become a powder. This will allow it to dissolve completely in the liquid. Otherwise, allow plenty of time for the sugar to dissolve.
  2. Combine all ingredients in a drink shaker with ice. Shake for 30 seconds.
  3. Pour into a glass, filtering out the mint leaves.
  4. Add a mint leaf as a garnish if desired.
  5. Repeat.

mmmmMojito! Great thought your recipe @The Late Night Gourmet :thumbsup:
I love mojito a lot but It's very difficult to find someone who is very good to make it..at least in Saronno where I live. In Milano is different but sometimes happens that I taste too much sugar inside or too much rum or too much lime.
Anyway I'm quite sure your mojito is super! Molto bravo.
Now I'm craving for a mojito! Detroit is too far from here...:happy:

Last edited:
Interesting.... as you say, think of rum of something you mix with coke or some fruity,"paper umbrella" cocktail. Enjoy mojitos.Sounds like that rum is worth a try 'straight up" ...

P.S....Use rum in my flaming banana's Foster !!..Now there's a good use for rum... :):):)

Tell me more!