Recipe Pomegranate Meats Rouleaux Carnaval and Rice Boules

flyinglentris

Disabled and Retired Veteran
Local time
6:37 AM
This is my first attempt at cooking anything with Pomegranate. As I am the judge for this month's challenge, I will not be judging it, but present here only as an example.

This is the result ...

pomegranate00.png

A deep fried dish featuring Pomegranate, this recipe incorporates three meats, Lamb, Chicken and Shrimp. It could well be used with a larger variety of meats, Salmon, Beef, Crab, Venison, Duck, etc. Feel free to make substitutions, if desired. The Pomegranate is boiled down with dried Cranberries to form a jam or preserve which can be used as a marinade, a spread, a topping or a filling. Unlike traditional Pomegranate Molasses, Sugar and Lemon Juice are not used. Instead, the dried Cranberries provide additional sweetener.

The ingredients are summarized in the following imaage ...

PG_Ingredients.png

No measurements are given and those who wish to try this recipe are free to use their own preferences on proportioning ingredients. Ingredients not mentioned are water for boiling down the pomegranate and a light cooking oil for deep frying.

PROCEDURE:

1) Remove the arils from the Pomegranates. NOTE: Do the following procedure over the bowl intended to collect the arils to capture any juice that may erupt. There are several ways to do this, but it is suggested to first cut the top off of the Pomegranate and then cut a pie shaped wedge out by cutting along two pith lines. These lines extend outward from the pith core and after cutting off the top, a star shape will be seen where the pith lines radiate outward from the center. This procedure will limit the severing of arils and the unwanted outflow of juice allowing for a less messy and drier procedure. After removing the initial wedge, the remainder of the Pomegranate can be pulled apart and broken up with the fingers.

PG_Arils.png