Roast beef - How do I get it crusty on the outside?

The White Rabbit

Über Member
Local time
9:40 AM
I haven't ever roasted beef. I'm wanting to replicate what I ate at the work cafe today. The meat was really tender with an overcooked crust. It was lovely.

How might I do this at home? I guess there might be some contribution from the cut as it had similar texture to that edge bit on scotch fillet.

I think you probably need to sear the outside of the beef in a pan over a high heat before roasting it. But I'm no expert when it comes to roast beef. @Yorky might know better...

Last edited:
I think you probably need to seer the outside of the beef in a pan over a high heat before roasting it. But I'm no expert when it comes to roast beef. @Yorky might know better...

Sorry, I don't. My mum used to do it but that was 40 years ago. Steak, I can do, but a joint, no. I suppose it would need serious searing (whether before or after roasting) to ensure the beef is not overcooked (I prefer my beef rare). How about a blowtorch?

Sorry, I don't. My mum used to do it but that was 40 years ago. Steak, I can do, but a joint, no. I suppose it would need serious searing (whether before or after roasting) to ensure the beef is not overcooked (I prefer my beef rare). How about a blowtorch?
Blowtorch is an excellent idea! Now I think of it I remember seeing a Chef on TV doing that.

good aged beef to start,or ensure any blood is dried off can be caused by packaging, plenty of sea salt and cracked black pepper, heat oil in your roasting tray and well sear the outside ,place then in a hot oven for 10 to 15 mins then turn oven down to 180 c and cook till core temperature reaches 35 degrees and then rest till you carve ,nice crusted mr roast beef, no added flavours needed on good beef when cooking

I don't cook roast beef. I always cook a pot roast when I want roast beef. Much cheaper. :wink: