Recipe Welsh Rarebit (version of)

Ken Natton

Über Member
Local time
9:09 AM
Right, I’m not good at precise recipes. You’ll have to accept my style is a bit more discursive. I hesitate to call this Marcus Wareing’s recipe because I don’t want to do an injustice to the man. I don’t know if you know this, but he’s a little bit good at this sort of thing. The best I can say is, I used to make Welsh Rarebit slightly differently than this until I saw him demo it. Now I make it this way in my best attempt to recreate what he did. I certainly like the result I get.

Making a roux is all about experience. If you’ve never done it before you might not find it turns out that great. You just have to persevere, everyone gets good at it if you just do it a few times. One of the things that was noticeable to me when Marcus Wareing demoed this dish is just how much effort he put into whipping the roux until it became a homogenous ball of paste you could have picked up. The other big thing is that it is absolutely essential to warm the milk separately. If you put cold milk onto a roux, don’t be surprised if the result isn’t very good. And there is something of a divided opinion about whether you should add the milk to the roux with the heat off or over a very low heat. The thing is the milk proteins react with the flour to produce the thickening effect and you have to work hard to keep the sauce smooth. Sometimes that effect might be too rapid for you to keep up with if you are doing it over heat. On the other hand, the key thing you are trying to avoid is uncooked flour in the final sauce. It produces that slightly grainy effect that is not so nice. All I can say is that it is all about experience. If you prepared to do it – and to get it wrong a few times – you will get to the point where you can do it well every time.