What's Your Favourite Meal? +Help request

ParfaitForFourFlutes

Local time
12:10 PM
Hi all,
I'm a bit new to cooking and was wondering: what your favourite meals are and why? My favourite that I've had (though never cooked- had it at a friends place) was this soup, I think its called French Onion Soup - it was superb, with homemade bread, some high-quality cheese that I couldn't place the name (it was white), and the base had a lovely garlicky and onion flavour!

Also, I'm not sure if I'm permitted to ask for help on this forum, but I might as well ask and know than to not ask and never know. So I'm a student, and I do not have the best diet due to expenses and such- mostly pre-packaged food like no-name brand salted crackers, peanut butter sandwiches, and some sugar cereals (they're the cheapest). As of late, or rather the past year or two, I've found it impossible to continue through the day without expending all of my energy likely due to malnutrition and starvation, which affects my studies. My help request is this: What are some cheap meals that I can make that are also somewhat healthy? (Healthy enough that I won't have to worry about big health problems or suddenly collapsing). I live in Ontario, where vegetables are fairly expensive (especially stuff like cauliflower) and am looking for things I can make that equate to about less than CAD$3 per serving (meal/bowl/plate). Again, sorry if this type of post isn't accepted here.

Thanks for reading, and hope you all are having a good day/night!

Hi all,
I'm a bit new to cooking and was wondering: what your favourite meals are and why? My favourite that I've had (though never cooked- had it at a friends place) was this soup, I think its called French Onion Soup - it was superb, with homemade bread, some high-quality cheese that I couldn't place the name (it was white), and the base had a lovely garlicky and onion flavour!