Your Journey As A Cook

The Late Night Gourmet

Home kook
Staff member
Local time
4:17 AM
Website
absolute0cooking.com
I'm sure there are all sorts of skill levels on this forum, and all sorts of reasons people have for being here. Not everyone has dreams of being the next Master Chef (I'd say I'm about 20 years to late for that!) But, that doesn't mean we can't take pride in our own victories in the kitchen.

So, what's your story? Why did you get interested in doing more than just eating out and pressing the button on the microwave?

I'll start out with the post following this one.

My Journey

In the Beginning

My dad was born in Italy, and both he and my mom would share the cooking duties when I was growing up. They never encouraged nor discouraged me from helping in the kitchen, and their cooking was so good that some part of me probably just wanted to enjoy their delicious creations.

When I graduated from college, I had to learn to fend for myself, and - living on my own - I couldn't afford to eat out all the time. So, I got creative with popular staples among young people: ramen noodles and macaroni and cheese (not at the same time!) This showed me that I could feed myself, and that the food could be decent.

I also dabbled with brewing beer, making a crazy array of fruit beers and other concoctions (the most bizarre - and surprisingly good - was a honey spruce beer). I didn't realize that this was my first real expression of creativity in the kitchen.

More Recently