Are you a naturally good cook or do you have to put in a lot of effort?

Local time
1:15 PM
At the risk of sounding cocky I have to say I am a naturally good cook. When the person who gave birth to you calls you up for some help with a dish that says a lot. Granted I call her from time to time as well, but a vote of confidence from your kitchen hero is like a gold medal.

From as far back as I can remember I was trying my hand at something in the kitchen and most times it came out quite well. I had a few "fouls" ups but never "chickened" out. I would always look for a fix for the foul ups and move on to the next challenge.

That said, I wouldn't be surprise if persons who had to put in a lot of effort really made for better cooks.

I think that would all depend on the meal & dish that I'm making.

For instance, just now, I just took some steak out of the oven that I was cooking. I thickened it with some roux. Or so I thought But the liquid didn't seem to thicken. Put some leftover potatoes in it that I cooked the other day, but had too much pepper in them. Potatoes usually thicken a liquid, but still, the gravy didn't seem thick enough!!:eek:

So I had to make a slurry of flour and water and added it to the gravy. It was then & ONLY then, that the gravy had finally thicken to the consistency that I was looking for! :eek:

Sometimes, things are easy, other times, those things that you've done so many times with good results, needs more doctoring up to get it right!! :eek:

I'm afraid I'm not naturally skilled in the kitchen; simple stuff that doesn't challenge me (like beans on toast or rice and curry [from a jar]) is fine, but that's not really cooking. I suppose if I get the chance, later in life, to spend some time trying things out then I might hope to develop some skills or at least be able to push the boundaries a bit - but it is a joy to watch someone who is a natural cook and "at home" in the kitchen; they make it look so effortless!! :)