Breakfast Polenta

flyinglentris

Disabled and Retired Veteran
Local time
11:23 AM
Ok fellow CBers, help me out here. I've never used polenta for a breakfast meal before and have decided to do something different for breakfast without having to resort to cream of wheat. Yuk.

Tell me about your breakfast polenta concoctions. I have a couple bags of dried blueberries, dried strawberries and banana chips to play with and of course, I can top things off with eggs, bacon and other stuff as well, like tomato, onion and garlic. Garlic for breakfast? Why not?

Much appreciation in advance.

Ok fellow CBers, help me out here. I've never used polenta for a breakfast meal before and have decided to do something different for breakfast without having to resort to cream of wheat. Yuk.

Tell me about your breakfast polenta concoctions. I have a couple bags of dried blueberries, dried strawberries and banana chips to play with and of course, I can top things off with eggs, bacon and other stuff as well, like tomato, onion and garlic. Garlic for breakfast? Why not?

Much appreciation in advance.

If I think of polenta for breakfast, my mind goes suddenly to the sweet version. Not sure you were referring to this though?
However, just to give you an idea if what I’m talking about, I sometimes make it with sugar addition, then fried or just eating as it is preferably cold then plunged in cold milk.
I usually make also polenta cake adding cocoa or dried fruit or choco chunks.
I’ll think to other alternatives and come back, but it’s lunch time now for me, I have a chicken to eat :laugh:

Could slicing and grilling polenta be a good alternative for you? Then drizzle with butter and garlic and some herbs?

It sounds interesting, but I have only dry polenta. I could make some cold paste.

Reactions: mjd

You use the term 'cornmeal' in the recipe and not polenta.

There are three things with corn, yellow or blue ...

Yellow:
1) Grits or Polenta
2) Cornmeal