cast iron cookware

FoodEnergetics

Local time
5:40 AM
Hi guys,

I'm planning to soon invest in various cast iron pans and have a few questions before I buy:

- Are there any specifics to look for? I'm planning on buying a non-coated one that I'll season myself before first use, is there anything particular I need to consider before buying?
- Do they work well on an electric hob? Do they work okay in a barbeque or open fire?
- How much should they cost? For a cast iron skillet, for example, would one that costs 25 EUR/ GBP likely be sufficient? I think the larger pots cost more towards the 80-100 eur/ £ mark.

Any advice much appreciated :)

Thanks!

Hi @foodterminology and welcome to CookingBites. I'm no expert regarding cast iron pans but I think others here are. The two pans I have were pre-seasoned, which does save a lot of hassle. My favourite is a Staub skillet - Staub are experts and their pans are beautiful but expensive! The skillet I have is a small one (individual serving size) and cost me £58!

Cast iron work well on electric hobs and BBQ's

Last edited:
thanks a lot! I've only taken a brief look at the Staub site you posted but looks great! will take a good look at what they offer!

I don't mind spending on cast iron pots if theyre worth it! :)

thanks again

This is the Staub skillet I have:

Screen Shot 2019-02-16 at 15.53.46.png

thanks a lot! I've only taken a brief look at the Staub site you posted but looks great! will take a good look at what they offer!

I don't mind spending on cast iron pots if theyre worth it! :)

thanks again

I bought my Staub from Amazon - check prices there before buying direct from Staub. Amazon usually have a cheaper price.