10:07 AM
Website
goatsandgreens.wordpress.com
)

tandoori-done.jpg

Above: Two tandoori thighs. Yum.

tandoori-marinating.jpg

Above: Tandoori chicken marinating

In India (and no doubt in quality Indian restaurants everywhere), “tandoori” refers to a way of cooking food in a high-heat tandoor oven. Which most of us probably don’t have. (However, it IS on my wish-list…) A really hot outdoor charcoal grill, however, can get us pretty darn close to, ahem, ignition. I have little experience with propane grilling in this regard, however, and unless you have experience with yours at really high heat, I recommend charcoal.

Prep time: 15-20 minutes active prep; marinate 8-24 hours.
Cook time: 20-30 minutes, might be longer - grill temps vary. These were somewhat smaller chicken thighs, here, too.
Rest time: Say, five minutes.
Serves: a couple of pieces of chicken for everyone is minimal, but I’d have the option for more
. At worst, there’d always be tasty leftovers.

Chicken Tandoori on the Grill

* Chicken, usually still on the bone, but skin removed:
Say, about 6 – 8 thighs, or whatever floats your boat. (If your chicken was reared in a healthy, pastured environment, save the skin to fry and crisp up in a skillet — draining off the extra fat after cooking onto a paper towel or two — otherwise discard. If you do fry and crisp it up, seasonings such as lemon pepper, garlic powder, or even a chili blend can be applied before crisping. But, that’s a separate dish.) If you don’t want the bother of removing the skin, go buy the boneless, skinless chicken pieces — although it is pretty easy to remove from the thighs (or breasts); drumsticks take a little bit more effort.
* Plain yogurt, preferably whole fat, have a cup to hand.:
If you prefer a not-whole-fat source, make sure there are no added sugars or other extenders in there. I often source out goat yogurt when available. Coconut yogurt is good for those who cannot / do not wish to consume dairy.