Crafts

Morning Glory

Obsessive cook
Staff member
Local time
10:13 PM
I noticed that Vickie1982 (new member) says in her intro that she runs a craft shop. I wondered if anyone else here enjoys a craft. Apart from being obsessed by cooking, I also love knitting. So-oo therapeutic. I knit all sorts of crazy patterns, not just traditional things and very often knit freeform. I have realised, over the years, that I'm not really happy unless my hands are busy. Thats partly why I love cooking. I worked as a film editor many years ago (in the days of celluloid) and that was intensely hands on.

I used to be able to carve whenever I wanted, but the house we live in now does not really allow me to send wood shavings everywhere. I really want to be able to whittle somewhere again, and not just outside.

I would love to be able to take up wicker or basket work as well. Mat making from reeds and the likes is always of huge interest to me and I am notorious for unpicking these things in my mind.
I have been considering taking up crochet work again as well since my back went, but so far have not really found the hours in the day. Somehow between the drugs I am on and everything else, the days just seem to slide by without me noticing :whistling:.

My mother however, can knit the most amazing blankets, of which I have 2. I am seriously considering doing one myself, but I know how much the blue one cost her in wool and I am not certain I can afford that right now! I know I don't need to buy all the wool in one go but...

IMG_0102.JPG
It is roughly 6 foot by 6 foot (folded in half)

There is a lighter one over me at the moment, but I don't have a photo of that one. Perhaps I will take one tomorrow.
I also fancy an autumnal one plus a really lightweight version for a summer blanket. That is the one I am considering crocheting.