Electric kettle or whistling kettle?

Local time
1:07 PM
Which kettle is best, the electric type or the one which whistles? I have been using a whistling kettle for many years now. We once had a kettle which did not whistle and so we were never aware when the water was boiling except we were in the kitchen and happened to see the steam coming out. Thus, there were times when a lot of the water would have boiled out without our knowledge. Subsequently, we decided for opt for a whistling kettle so that we would always hear when the water was boiling even if no-one was in the vicinity of the kitchen at the time.

Recently, we went to a country house on a little vacation, and the house was equipped with an electric kettle...no whistling kettle. After a few days I got to liking the electric kettle since I found that the water tended to boil more quickly in that type of kettle than in the other kettles we owned before.

What type of kettle do you use?

Electric - which I personally prefer for speed too - although I often set-up a coffee for me and my wife and then get busy doing something and forget to actually make them. I suppose if we had a kettle that whistled it would solve that problem. :laugh:

Just out of curiosity, do you live in a house with no electricity or do you just not have any in the kitchen?

I do have electricity all over the house, but have just never considered buying an electric kettle until I came across the one in the country house where we stayed recently. That was when I noticed how quickly these kettles boil water in comparison to the other kettles. However, the whistling kettle still has its advantages so I may continue using that for a while yet.

I'm afraid I haven't touched a kettle for... well, a very long time. :giggle: When I did have one in another lifetime, it was of the whistling variety but even back then I found that I rarely used it.