Enameled Cast Iron Cookware

Morning Glory

Obsessive cook
Staff member
Local time
8:58 AM
Until recently, I've never got on well with enameled cast iron cook ware. My friend has a set of Le Creuset and I use that quite a lot when I stay with him. I find it is a bit heavy for me as I have arthritic wrists. However, as I've become more experienced as a cook I've grown to rather enjoy using them. They are great for retaining heat and maintaining an even heat.

Anyway, I decided to look for a white shallow enameled round casserole dish - the reason being that apart from being useful it would look well in food photos. I looked high and low but the only ones I found (and there weren't many) were incredibly expensive. I forgot about it for a while and then whilst looking for something else entirely, came across an article in the Daily Mail about how Aldi (discounter supermarket) were stocking enameled cast-iron cookware at budget price. There was a limited supply and they were only being stocked for a short time. Apparently they were selling like hot cakes. I dashed to the local Aldi (I was in Essex at the time) and miraculously there was the perfect pan.

For £24.99 ($32) its an absolute bargain. It looks and feels the part - but of course, it will be a test of time to see if it keeps its good looks. I just looked in my local Aldi and there were only a few items left...

Do you own enameled cast iron cookware and are you a fan?

The bargain Aldi cast iron casserole:

fullsizeoutput_3a99.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_3a9a.jpeg

20180922_160708.jpg

We have a similar dark royal blue one that is a Sur La Table brand. I don't remember how much it cost, but substantially less than Le Creuset. We've had it several years and, so far, it's holding up as well as the Le Crueset. I find it a bit heavy, though nothing like the bigger pans/pots. It does do a wonderful job with heat distribution/retention.