Getting Enough Protein- when you don't eat meat

Mockingbird

Veteran
Local time
2:03 AM
I have been grappling with a problem for a few months now and I hope that maybe someone here might have an answer. I started weight training back in June and one of the things that came up was the level of protein in my diet. Overall I have a great diet, the problem is I don't eat meat so my protein levels are low, even though I ingest a huge amount of nuts and eggs.

I added a protein supplement, this one is hemp based and it helps but it is still to low.( My trainer said rule of thumb 50% of body weight so if I am 100 lbs the protein should be 50g.) I have read some accounts that say less. I need about 147g I come in at about 90g according to most calculators. What else besides nuts, egg and beans works? Is there a better supplement type?

What is wrong with nuts eggs and beans by themselves? And 147g of protein would be putting your weight at around 300lb? I think you may have misread the figures... The ones I am reading state
When we make a few adjustments to account for some plant proteins being digested somewhat differently from animal proteins and for the amino acid mix in some plant proteins, we arrive at a level of 0.9 gram of protein per kilogram body weight (0.41 grams per pound).

They have huge amounts of protein in them and some have more than meat. There are many, many types of beans, lentils and nuts that can add variety to your diet. And you only mention you don't eat meat, not that you are vegan, so you need to factor in dairy which had a considerable source of protein as well.

A quick idea from this website will give you an idea of vegan protein sources.
Tempeh - 41 g per cup
Lentils – 18 g per cup
Plain soymilk – 11 g per cup
Edamame – 20 g per cup
Seitan – 19 g per 3 ounces
Tofu – 20 g per 1/2 cup
Peas – 9 g per cup
Brown rice – 5 g per cup
White rice – 4 g per cup
Cooked broccoli – 4 g per cup
Sunflower seeds – 6 g per 1/4 cup
Quinoa – 9 g per cup