Hello from Tasmania, Australia

BobKat

Über Member
Local time
12:50 PM
Hi everyone, I'm very new to the kitchen..or at least the business end of it, interested in home butchery and using the not so popular cuts/parts of the animals we farm for our table. Looking forward to sharing and listening to all your stories.

Hi - had a little debate about the 'less used' bits a while ago. It seems we in the developed world have become either too squeamish or just too wasteful to use everything that is available [and was used even in my parents day]. Offal appears to have many people reaching for the sick bag and even some ordinary meats [such as mutton] just don't seem to be popular anymore.
Anyhow welcome from the opposite side of the world :welcome:

Welcome @BobKat. I hope you enjoy it here. We are very friendly! In terms of not so popular parts of meat, I'm very interested and will have a go at anything! I can get beef cheeks fairly cheaply here and they are delicious. But I love all offal too. :D You might find that quite a few here are not fans of offal as @sidevalve mentioned...

Good Luck SatNav!! Let us know when you arrive!! Safe Journey!
Thanks. I arrived on Thursday, 2 days later. Just ' settling ' in to the temporary apartment and starting the house hunting... Its hard because everywhere is no gardens or tiny wooden areas and I'm used to space and want a garden!

Thanks. I arrived on Thursday, 2 days later. Just ' settling ' in to the temporary apartment and starting the house hunting... Its hard because everywhere is no gardens or tiny wooden areas and I'm used to space and want a garden!
Do you mean decking areas when you say wooden? I'm surprised about no garden. I expect I'm naive because I have this idea that Australian houses are airy and spacious and have large outdoor areas for the pool and BBQ!