Help save my Neapolitan dough?

gaogier

Local time
8:26 PM
Hello

i am making some Neapolitan pizza for Saturday. So I have made the dough but I think something has gone wrong. This is my first attempt at making Neapolitan pizza.

here is what my Dough looks like...
31C2DBC2-619B-4881-B2D9-2DC3B8786C79.jpeg

can this be saved?

No sugar and I put the yeast in the 10% flour water

That recipe doesn't use a lot of yeast for the amount of flour, so it may have given its all and died. The recipe says to let it rest for at lesat 2 hours, then make the balls and let them sit for 24 hours. So, you are already way out of the time range if you aren't making the dough until Saturday.

As to the salt and yeast weight measurements, I'm not too sure about them. Salt weighs a lot more than yeast so something seems off. I'm not going to weigh it out myself, but I did once for another recipe where I weighed and converted grams to teaspoons and tablespoons for those that didn't have scales and my memory says something is off, so I'd check that if I were you.

Did you use the 00 flour called for?

When using active dried yeast instead of fresh, you have to use about 1/2 less. If you are using instant dried yeast, even less, about 1/3 less. Also, I know a lot of people have stopped doing it, but I still hydrate my active dried yeast with a little bit of warm water and just a tiny pinch of sugar to get it going.

Yes, the dough can be saved. You can treat it like a starter/biga. You'll just have to add some additional yeast dissolved as above. Mix into the starter well, adding a touch more flour if needed, then proceed with the 2 hours, ball, 24 hours, etc.