How many herbs and spices in your store cupboard?

Morning Glory

Obsessive cook
Staff member
Local time
10:25 AM
Today I was checking my supplies of dried herbs and spices as some seemed to be getting low. I usually buy most of them from Asian shops as they are so much cheaper than elsewhere. But anyway, I thought I'd count how many I have. TOTAL: 53.

I suppose that's quite a lot by most people's standards! But I'm a fanatical cook and like to have them all to hand. How many dried herbs and spices do you keep in your store cupboard/spice rack?

Err, not sure I want to count all of mine, but I know I have a very large cupboard set aside for them. There is little that a recipe can ask for that I don't now have. :happy: I might count them later if I get bored but I think there are some photos on here somewhere of my spice cupboard. Herbs I usually prefer fresh so grow half of what I need and buy the rest.

OK, here is my spice cupboard. It has s fantastic smell when you open it!

14564874197361851672402.jpg

Last edited:
I'll have to count me later but what I think has to happen is that I have to throw some out. Quite recently I was looking in the cupboard and realised I have thing in there I have not used in like forever.

I have quite a number of spices and herbs in my cupboard too, but some of them have not been used for a while. The ones I use are usually kept outside of the cupboard where they can be seen and are readily accessible. These include powdered ginger, curry powder, cayenne pepper, cinnamon, oregano, black pepper, nutmeg, and Cajun seasoning. I believe I have some white pepper containers in the cupboard which have not been used for a while. There are also some containers in there which may need throwing out.