How to create a 'split' sauce

Morning Glory

Obsessive cook
Staff member
Local time
6:00 PM
This may be a question for ChefBasics. I'd like advice on how to create a split sauce (please no jokes about you having done it many times by accident!). Its a bit of a cheffy trick and looks very pretty. I've made split salad dressings (vinegar dripped into oil or oil dripped into a yoghurt dressing for example - mainly by trial and error) but I'm not certain of the principles and whether the same applies to split hot sauces. This is the sort of effect I mean:

Of course if I try to Google this it just leads for lots of advice on how to repair and accidentally split sauce! Hence my asking here.

In fact I don't think the above image is quite what I'm talking about as I think that the image is of parsley or dill oil dripped into a creamy sauce. What I mean is an actual sauce poured into another sauce.

Last edited:
I've never done that before.

Like Morning Glory said, it sometimes happens by accident. I can see it being done intentionally with Oils mated with possibly, some Syrups, etc., with Creamy Stuff, but not for many Sauces. With Oils and Syrups, Fats and some other Stuff, there is a tendency for things to separate and float, allowing things to be mixed all at once and be allowed to separate and do that thing. The time taken for separation gets to be a critical thing and it should happen quickly for things that are not intended to cool and be served hot.