How to make perfect hash browns

Morning Glory

Obsessive cook
Staff member
Local time
9:58 PM
Well, I'm not an expert at all at making hash browns, so I'm asking for your methods:
  • Do you use raw grated potato or do you par cook the potato first before grating/shredding?
  • What kind of potatoes - waxy or floury?
  • Do you add any other ingredients: flour and/or egg to bind, onion etc.?
  • How do you cook them? In a frying pan or in the oven or any other method?
And finally, is their a difference between a potato rosti and a hash brown?

We prefer to use russet potatoes for hash browns. Peeled, grated and soaked to remove starch. I like thin sliced onions in mine. Pan fried until GBD. I like them small. Rosti seems to be a large cake done in a skillet, possibly done in the oven. Not sure if it gets flipped. I don't use a binder, just let them cook on one side and flip.

I've cooked them every which way, but my preferred method of late is to use...the waffle iron.

I use either russets or Yukon golds, and sometimes I'll go deluxe with the spices (chili powder, garlic powder, paprika, etc) and sometimes, it's just salt and pepper.

I'll shred them, squeeze the living sh!t out of them to get them as dry as possible, then season, then toss in olive oil. Then I'll spray the preheated waffle iron, plop in the potatoes, and about 15 minutes later:

This look gorgeous. So 15 mins in the waffle iron. How long to cook in a frying pan?
I think it's about the same, though you have to flip them; seven or eight minutes a side.

One crucial thing I forgot to add...if you're using fresh potatoes...shred them and then rinse, rinse, and rinse some more. That water has to run clear or you'll get greyish gummy taters, whatever your method.