Is it worth having an allotment?

lizzief79

Veteran
Local time
10:07 AM
I have recently started fantasising about having an allotment. I love the idea of growing my own vegetables and then cooking with them. Although I own my own home, my garden isn't really suitable for growing vegetables. I investigated the price of renting an allotment and was shocked by how little it was. I also researched the price of seeds and bulbs and realized that I would probably save money on groceries over the year. I have a few concerns about making the step into starting an allotment though. Firstly, I don't really know what I am doing as I have very little gardening experience. Secondly, I am not sure I have the time to dedicate to it as I have four children and work. Finally, I worry that there will be surplus vegetables at some times of the year and that I will have to supplement the veg I am growing seasonally with store bought food. If this was the case it wouldn't really save me money. If there is anyone with any experience who can advise me on this matter I would be really grateful.

We never had an allotment, but we did have a huge (2 acre) garden where we had set aside various areas for veg, fruit, fruit trees, herb and a greenhouse. My in-laws have had an allotment the entire time I have known them - around 20 years now.

You will find that allotments vary from one place to another - looking for a secure allotment if you live in a city is useful. My in-laws have this issue and it is not uncommon for sheds to be set on fire and gardening equipment stolen (prior to the site being made more secure that is).