Japanese knife (or German)

jj1985jj

Local time
9:08 AM
Hi. So im looking at spending a little bit of money...maybe £200 of 2-3 knives. Was very close to purchasing some Dalsrong knives from Amazon but a few reviews were very negative online, despite Amazons high reviews.
Are these really bad option? im a keen home cook at best but want something to last me. In my uneducated culinary experience i've hard japanese knives are the best but people often suggest 'wusthof', a german brand. I have 3-4 thomas sabo which so far am unimpressed with. Any advice is much appreciated. Such confusing world of knives out there!!!!

If you're going to spend that amount on 2-3 knives , I'd seriously recommend finding a shop that sells them where you can get hands on and hold them. Yes there are decent knives out there that you can purchase on the likes of Amazon, but nothing beats hands on when parting with £100 a knife and I have a couple of knives that are more than that and get used everyday because they feel so good and the weighting is ideal for me.

Mine are German knives I think, not the Japanese Global knives which are now enough, but I prefer wooden handles to metal ones and also find the weighting (balance) much better.
I'll add a link to them in a minute. I've just got to find it .

Here we go. It's an olive wood handle knife . Amazon do so it. Obviously there is a range of them in different sizes etc.
https://www.cookingbites.com/threads/just-treated-myself-to-this-knife.7482/

Where are you in the UK ? I used to live there and know of several good cooking shops in England, from Surrey through to Cheshire.

Last edited:
My big and used on big cuts of meat is German as well, bought from harrods about 20 years ago, from memory I paid $120 way back then. My day to day knife is a cheapy one. No more than $10. But it just handles real well. I use about 4 different knives I use. One for boning or fish filleting. Another light weight knife for cutting salads etc.

Russ