Nature

CraigC

Guru
Local time
6:14 AM
Tell us about your observations, related stories, pictures and any experience with keeping non domestic species. Personally, I've been an outdoorsman most of my life. I'm very familiar with the Everglades region in my area as well as the reef areas offshore. I'm a certified Hunter Education Instructor for the state of Florida and enjoyed teaching kids about wildlife and being safe gun owners (including archery). I've also kept snakes most of my life, both venomous and non. My wife and I bred emerald tree boas (both subspecies) last decade. Here is a thread about keeping and breeding emeralds.

Snakes and other Reptiles and Amphibians.

Squirrels love our backyard and are pretty friendly (we feed them). We dont get TOO friendly, I don't hand feed them or touch them. They will take naps on the deck rail sometimes.

And the chipmunks are much more friendly. They will come right up to the sliding glass door and look in at us sometimes.

Our favorite chipmunk, Alvin. I had a video of him running up when I called him by name but I didn't realize I can't upload it here 🤐

When we had our oak tree I had a squirrel feeder. Now they just rob the bird feeder. I live in a subdivision so there isn't much in the way of wildlife. It is an old subdivision and there are lots of old, mature trees in the area. Many live oaks.
I enjoy sitting on the patio to watch and listen to the birds. There are three or four species of doves that visit and nest in the area. The Mockingbirds make me laugh. The Blue Jays are bullies. There are Cardinals, House Wrens, Sparrows and Crows. I occasionally see a Hawk, Red Wing Black Bird and, a couple of times, an Eastern Bluebird. Lots of Hummingbirds.