Pasta questions

Puggles

Veteran
Local time
5:16 AM
I've been cooking for 20 years and I'm ashamed to say that I only just recently made homemade fresh pasta.
I used a combo of AP flour and semolina, eggs, olive oil and salt. I formed the dough, kneaded for about 5 minutes until it got difficult and wrapped in a ball in plastic wrap and let sit for a while on the counter. I rolled it out and cut into fettuccini-like shapes and let it dry for about an hour. I heard that fresh pasta only takes about a minute to cook, so I tested a noodle after a minute and it was nowhere near done. It went for about 4-5 minutes and the end result turned out more like a "thin spaetzle" than a pasta noodle and didn't care for any of it at all :(

I don't know what I did wrong. I've seen it made so many times and did what the recipe called for, but the results were not what I was expecting.

I need help :(
20220617_190143.jpg

Dried pasta and fresh pasta are quite different things due to the lack of, or presence of egg for starters, not to mention the manufacturing techniques, so it's no surprise that you found it similar to Spaetzle which is an egg pasta.

I enjoy fresh pasta with a ragu such as Bolognese, and you need it if you are going to make ravioli which I suggest you try.

Fresh pasta is usually rolled thin, and thinner pasta will cook more quickly. A pasta roller will make the job a thousand times easier, but if you're not planning on making pasta often a rolling pin and a knife will do.

Also if you're expecting the same result as dried pasta, they are different things.

I formed the dough, kneaded for about 5 minutes until it got difficult and wrapped in a ball in plastic wrap and let sit for a while on the counter. I rolled it out and cut into fettuccini-like shapes and let it dry for about an hour.
The recipe I use is basically 1 egg for each 100 gms flour and/or semolina.