Poached Eggs

DancingLady

Veteran
Local time
4:58 AM
I have never been successful at poaching eggs. I've tried the advice a few people have given me but I always end up with so much white in the water I feel I have to drink the water to avoid throwing away healthy food I paid for! It tastes terrible to drink it though. Anybody have a secret I maybe don't know yet?

I have always heard about poached eggs, but I have never tried them before. I tend to go with either fried eggs, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, or omelette. I must have tasted poached egg on 1 occasion and that is when I was visiting another country on holiday; the hotel was serving poached eggs. So, since I have never even done them, I don't know what the secret would be in getting them to come out just right.

My understanding is that you need to get the boiling water swirling really well just before the egg is put into it, so have the egg pre cracked in a small bowl and stir the boiling water really well and very quickly before dropping the egg into the centre and so stirring just before your put the egg in.

Oh, thank you, I actually have not heard that idea before. I will give it a try and see if that is the secret I have been missing.

I have hit and miss days with poached eggs. As well as the above tips, pour in the egg close to the water and the fresher the egg the better to concentrate the egg in one place. I also then cover the pan for a few minutes. A smaller pan is also better for poaching so the whites don't spread.

I've seen many different techniques of this on tv and on YouTube but I think the most effective one is swirling the water in the pot prior to dropping in your eggs. I think this is mainly for minimizing the amount of whites forming small white branches and instead you'll have a more perfect ball. Also I've heard it's good to put in some vinegar in the water but I'm not really sure what that's for.

Just a few tips are as follows:
1. Put a few drops of vinegar in the water.