Quince?

flyinglentris

Disabled and Retired Veteran
Local time
11:51 PM
I have never tried quince before and figured I try in in a smoothie. It's hard and tough and I had to cut it up into little peaces before letting it bang around in my blender. It's not sweet in any way, but gave the smoothing a rough texture.

But quince confused me and I wound up scratch'n my head about how people use and prepare quince. I did a little research and it seems that it is often cooked, after which it turns pink and possibly pinkish.

I have one left and would like to evaluate it as it might uniquely be prepared, but as I am the type that doesn't just want to follow exactly another recipe, I would like to inquire for suggestions on alternatives for preparing quince.

Thank You,

Firstly, Happy New Year ..

The only ways I have ever seen quince or membrillo (the name of the fruit in Spanish as we are large producers and export it throughout Latin America and to Latin Grocers in North America and The Caribbean) are:

A) Quince (Membrillo) a fruit jelly paste that is served with a fresh White cheese ..
B) Quince Marmalade.
C) Quince Tarts or Pies ..
D) Quince with Quail or Pheasant or Guinea Fowl or Chicken to provide a sweet and savory flavor ..

I do know the quince fruit must be cooked for quite some time on a slow low simmer in wáter with sugar until tender ..

I also have seen several récipes on The BBC Good Food Website ..

Last edited:
But quince confused me and I wound up scratch'n my head about how people use and prepare quince. I did a little research and it seems that it is often cooked, after which it turns pink and possibly pinkish.

It isn't to be eaten raw. It must be cooked. It takes quite a lot of cooking to achieve that pink colour. I am still a quince newbie but I did cook some a few weeks ago. I poached it for about an hour or more to get the colour. But - it has an exquisite aromatic taste. I have some right here now and intend to experiment in the next few days!