Roasted Brusels sprouts

kgord

Veteran
Local time
6:40 PM
Have you ever tried roasting brussel sprouts? I have never done it before, but I am doing it for tonight's dinner. I will let you know how it turns out. I do like brussel sprouts and I am guessing roasting them with some olive oil and a bit of kosher salt will bring out the natural sweetness.

Have you ever tried roasting brussel sprouts? I have never done it before, but I am doing it for tonight's dinner. I will let you know how it turns out. I do like brussel sprouts and I am guessing roasting them with some olive oil and a bit of kosher salt will bring out the natural sweetness.
Yes, absolutely lovely unless you roast them too much! Easily done (and I've done that). :D There's a fine line between caramelised and burnt. Hope it went well.

Yes, they turned out pretty well. I would do it again. I was making some fish at the time, some of the prepared frozen kind, and they all got done about the same time, so I didn't have to have to dirty another pot, which is always good.:D

When I was in high school, out teacher used to tell us stories of her summer escapades. In one story, there was this camping by the hillside where they roasted a whole cabbage. That served as a side dish to the roasted birds that they hunted. When I had my own home, I tried that roasted cabbage and I was disappointed because the taste was blah. And since Brussels sprouts are miniature cabbage, does it taste better when roasted? But maybe the olive oil would do wonders for that because what I'm thinking is to roast a cabbage with butter.

I've roasted brussel sprouts before and have to say that they come out amazing. Most of the time I use a fresh bushel and toss them lightly in some olive oil, a little lemon juice and have fresh garlic accompany them during their roast. It's to die for.

I also recommend roasting onion. Slice it thickly like a steak and roast until golden brown. They melt in your mouth.