Slicing an onion

zuludog

Veteran
Local time
12:40 PM
I like to think that I'm a reasonable cook, but for years I've never managed a neat or professional way to slice an onion, I usually just hack away at it till it looks right

Well, I was determined to have something useful to show for the Lockdown, so after looking at a cookery book, and several YouTube videos I've been practising whenever I cook a suitable meal, based on Gordon Ramsay's method.
After 6 weeks or so I reckon I've cracked it, and can only get better in the future

One thing that helped was to use a smaller knife
When you see professional chefs on TV and YouTube they use large chef's knives, probably around 10"/250mm
Even though I think I'm fairly capable at handling a knife I swallowed a bit of manly pride & image, and changed to a 6"/150mm blade; that made it much easier.
Needless to say, it was very sharp

I think different recipes call for different slicing techniques. For onion rings, obviously, you've to to slice them across the equator, so to speak, but for French onion soup, the preference seems to be more pole-to-pole, in order to get onion "ribs."

but for French onion soup, the preference seems to be more pole-to-pole, in order to get onion "ribs."

I never knew that!

When you see professional chefs on TV and YouTube they use large chef's knives, probably around 10"/250mm

I use a large knife, super sharp. And I use the chefs method of gripping the onion half with knuckles bentforward to protect fingertips. I've been doing it for years now but still I'm not anywhere near the speed of professionals.

zuludog - do you have a video link to the method you are using?

I also use a large chef's knife for most slicing/dicing/chopping tasks. I find that gripping up close to the heel gives me a lot more control for more precise work.

zuludog - do you have a video link to the method you are using?
[/QUOTE]