Slow Roast Pork

dkmaxx

Local time
6:11 PM
Website
www.davekeegan.com
Mod. Edit - posts copied to start new thread

Hello there - I've just joined the forum - been cooking for 30 years - sometimes professionally (am at the moment), always at home and am hugely in love with gastronomy in all its glory.

Current obsession is Thai cuisine at home - but at work I'm using some of those techniques to make very British bar snacks for a local pub.

Slow-roast 3 hr belly pork with crackling, rested overnight then cubed, deep-fried with a cider apple dipping sauce.

D'you think I could cut the roasting time
and boil it with the same results?

Looking forward to exchanging ideas!

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi & Welcome!
Newbie here myself..

As to the pork, do you sous vide at the restaurant?
Experimenting here with SV.... find the HD freezer Ziplock bags leave a plastic taste (IMHO), so sticking with the HD vacuum bags.

Cheers!

I can understand why you'd want to cut down the cook time, being in pub and all. You can cut the time down considerably by using a pressure cooker: the cook time is about 1/3 of what it would be otherwise, but I'd probably check at 40 minutes just to be sure you're not overcooking it.

To manage the crackling, you have 2 choices:
  • Cut off the fat cap first, and crisp up under a broiler. The trapped moisture inside the pressure cooker won't allow it to crisp up
  • Keep the fat on, and then put what remains under a broiler to crisp up
I'm skeptical that the second one would work, since I think the heat and the pressure would basically melt the fat off the pork belly.

I can understand why you'd want to cut down the cook time, being in pub and all. You can cut the time down considerably by using a pressure cooker: the cook time is about 1/3 of what it would be otherwise, but I'd probably check at 40 minutes just to be sure you're not overcooking it.

To manage the crackling, you have 2 choices: