Talk me out of buying a KitchenAid

vernplum

Veteran
Local time
11:17 PM
Been toying with the idea of getting a KA Artisan or Mini recently. I want to grind my own meat (I have a hand-grinder right now that always clogs) and make pasta (q.v. semi-disastrous manual ravioli making session) so I need the attachment functionality, plus, although I'm not a prolific baker, I guess I could put it to use making pizza as well as pasta doughs, pastries, etc.

A store near me has an offer of USD $530 for the Artisan and they will throw in the metal meat grinding set (about USD $220 list) as part of the deal.

Should I do it? Any other pros and cons to consider?

Pros:
  • Fresh hamburgers, meatloaves, sausages, pasta, labour saving on dough making...
  • Nice shiny new gizmo may inspire me more.
  • Attractive bundle deal.

Cons:
  • Takes up quite a bit of space and I don't have counterspace for it to be out all the time. It will need to be stored (and it weighs a sh*t ton).
  • Pasta maker add on costs about USD $150. That will take a long time to amortize the cost.
  • How often will I really make sausages? if I thought pasta-making was messy, that's even worse.
  • 1 yr warranty only.
  • I got a butcher nearby who can grind meat on demand.

I have a KA stand mixer. I've had it 25+ years, still going strong. I use it a couple of times a week at least.

I don't have any of the attachments. I had the meat grinder one but ended up giving it away because I never used it.

I use it primarily for bread, but I also use it for cakes (and frosting), cheese balls, mashed potatoes, whipped cream, whipped egg whites, dips, and a few other things that are escaping me at the moment.