Using Rice and Beans as Fillers

Shellyann36

Veteran
Local time
4:13 AM
Our family loves to eat tacos and enchiladas but with meat being so expensive I have been using fillers for a few years. Normally I use rice as a filler for both dishes but I have also used beans in the past as well. This stretches the meat and helps to fill us up as well. With the price of food skyrocketing I will probably start using it in other dishes as well.

What dishes do you use fillers for?

Rice in tacos? hmm... sounds odd. Beans however are a normal part of the dish so obviously that works really well.

I actually prefer just putting in more of the cheaper ingredients instead of using a filler. For example, when making pasta I have a bit more pasta and less sauce and put less meat in the sauce. As long as you don't over do it the food will taste the same while being a bit cheaper.

If your family likes mushrooms you could try using mushrooms as an alternative 'filler' every now and again. Just grate them (yep - grate them) and cook them instead of minced meat - it looks almost identical and tastes wonderful (to me at least!)

https://www.cookingbites.com/threads/a-different-alternative-to-minced-beef.79/#post-450

I have not thought about mushrooms. Hubby likes them but I am not a big fan. I have used squash grated up as a filler as well.

Rice in tacos? hmm... sounds odd. Beans however are a normal part of the dish so obviously that works really well.

I actually prefer just putting in more of the cheaper ingredients instead of using a filler. For example, when making pasta I have a bit more pasta and less sauce and put less meat in the sauce. As long as you don't over do it the food will taste the same while being a bit cheaper.

We actually like the rice more than the beans as our filler for the tacos. It turns out pretty good. We use refried beans as a side or a topping.