Vegetarian Cheese

medtran49

Forum GOD!
Local time
9:53 PM
[Mod.Edit: This and the following few posts moved to form a new thread]

because cheese is not vegetarian

Why is cheese not vegetarian? I've never been corrected before when I've used it in dishes I've called vegetarian so I am really, truly, honestly curious.

Last edited by a moderator:
Why is cheese not vegetarian? I've never been corrected before when I've used it in dishes I've called vegetarian so I am really, truly, honestly curious.
I'm no expert, but I just found an explanation on the internet that technically, cheese that is made using rennet, since it comes from the lining of an animal's stomach, is not vegetarian.

I'm no expert, but I just found an explanation on the internet that technically, cheese that is made using rennet, since it comes from the lining of an animal's stomach, is not vegetarian.

But not all cheese are made using rennet.

Only some cheese is not vegetarian. There are vegetarians who do eat all kinds of cheese (my daughter does). Arguably she is therefore not a true vegetarian.

That's correct. Not all cheese is vegetarian - but many are fine. It depends whether rennet is used or not. Classic Parmesan uses rennet, for example.

But not all cheese are made using rennet.
In this case though, both traditionally used cheeses are made with animal rennet (as are most cheeses that fall under the classification of traditional, most but not all).