What makes a great cornbread?

Caitie_Grace

Local time
5:42 AM
Hey hey,

I’m trying to come up with a really good cornbread recipe. How would you describe your favorite cornbread/johnny cake? The recipe I have as of now tastes fine but it’s not melt in your mouth like butter amazing cornbread you know? It’s a little bit dry and crumbly. I think maybe the recipe I have asks for vegetable oil, would it be better with another type of oil or butter? Anyone want to share cornbread secrets?

Hello @Caitie_Grace

I've been playing with cornbread recipes for a couple of months - but I'm a Brit living in France, so I'm not sure how well my recipes crossover with US ingredients. Have a look at the thread below:

https://www.cookingbites.com/threads/simple-cornbread.13130/

I made a sweet cornbread using a very small drop of vanilla today - and I'm very pleased with it. It's not dry or crumbly at all.

I don't use vegetable oil - I much prefer to use butter.

To get round the slightly dry problem, I used a little bit more butter than in the initial recipe I posted in the above thread, and a drop more milk.

If it would be simpler for you I could post a revised recipe in the above thread - let me know?

Hello @Caitie_Grace

I've been playing with cornbread recipes for a couple of months - but I'm a Brit living in France, so I'm not sure how well my recipes crossover with US ingredients. Have a look at the thread below:

https://www.cookingbites.com/threads/simple-cornbread.13130/

I made a sweet cornbread using a very small drop of vanilla today - and I'm very pleased with it. It's not dry or crumbly at all.

I don't use vegetable oil - I much prefer to use butter.

To get round the slightly dry problem, I used a little bit more butter than in the initial recipe I posted in the above thread, and a drop more milk.

If it would be simpler for you I could post a revised recipe in the above thread - let me know?