When did you start cooking?

Morning Glory

Obsessive cook
Staff member
Local time
1:06 PM
How long have you been cooking? I mean seriously cooking. I'm ashamed to say I was in my mid twenties before I learned anything at all. I was pretty hopeless back then and it was a man in my life who taught me to cook. But really, it wasn't until I was mid thirties that I started regularly cooking and getting experience. The big leap was when I took early retirement aged 58. Since then I've become passionate about cooking and recipe development and latterly, food photography.

So - well I could say I've been cooking for 40 years. But in reality, the serious cooking began 8 years ago. What about you?

Probably about ten years ago, although there were signs well before that. I remember the very first meal I 'created' when my parents came to visit me in student digs. Sausage meat cups, filled with Branston pickle and served with mashed potato and a cheese sauce. They ate it politely without comment.

Ten years ago I gave up my job and started a new business, initially working from home. This meant that not only was I home to eat three times each day, but I also started getting involved in sourcing ingredients and actually cooking them. It snowballed from there.

I actually started when in the Boy Scouts. Seriously when I went to college. At first it wasn't very good. Ok, I admit it was awful, but I made myself eat it. That led to vast improvements rather quickly and I haven't looked back since!:cool:

My wife in UK was a reasonable cook but was reluctant to experiment. It was me who started cooking "foreign food". However, the hours that I worked prevented me from getting serious until I retired in 1999. By that time I had spent time in Malaysia, China and Thailand so I had a lot of ideas with which to experiment.