Ideas for evening snack?

Hiraeth

Veteran
Local time
12:40 PM
I'm a complete beginner in the art of cooking. I haven't made much besides omelettes, sandwiches, tea and coffee. And those were consumed by myself alone so I cant even know if they were more than just hunger pang fillers.

But I really want to learn. I find myself, friends and family often feeling hungry in the evenings, when it's not yet time for dinner. Is there anything that can be made easily and quickly to munch on that will be both sufficiently filling and delicious? I don't want sandwiches or anything sweet. Something along the lines of french fries or pop corns.

Any ideas?

A small apple and some peanut butter is a great snack. Apples have lots of nutrients and fiber and peanut butter has fat and protein to help you feel full. Yes, apples have sugar like any fruit, but I don't think it's too sweet, especially if you are pairing it with something like peanut butter which will help prevent a blood sugar spike.

I usually have a bowl of fruit out at all times. When the kids come cruising through the kitchen looking for something to grab, they tend to go for what's most convenient. Since it's already sitting out, they gravitate towards it.

A veggie tray! You can not go wrong with a veggie tray. It's filling, but not real heavy. It's healthy for you. With ranch dip, everyone loves it regardless of their age.

A small apple and some peanut butter is a great snack. Apples have lots of nutrients and fiber and peanut butter has fat and protein to help you feel full. Yes, apples have sugar like any fruit, but I don't think it's too sweet, especially if you are pairing it with something like peanut butter which will help prevent a blood sugar spike.