Stelline...suggestions welcome

Duck59

Guru
Local time
12:54 AM
Website
duckholiday.com
I've just acquired some stelline (pasta) partially on the grounds that it was going ridiculously cheaply. I've never used it before and from my limited knowledge, it is commonly used to make soups.

Since I'm here though, there's no harm in seeking any suggestions or recipes. Preferably vegetarian, but feel free to deposit ideas in the space below.

I had to look this up. It turns out to be some very pretty star shaped and delicately tiny pasta shapes. My thoughts are to use it as you might cous-cous as a side dish - cooked until al dente in boiling water which, given their size will take about 8 minutes or less.

For example:
Drain then mix with finely chopped preserved lemons, finely chopped dates, pine nuts, chopped parsley and olive oil.

It's great in soups, my favourite (because it's the easiest) is to add it to escarole soup.

Chop up a head of washed escarole, add to a deep skillet or wide stock pot of minced onions and garlic that has been sweating in olive oil. Turn the leaves into the mix until it wilts, add 5 or 6 cups of your best veggie or chicken stock, brimg to a boil, add stelline pasta, simmer for just a minute or two, then serve topped with shaved Grana Padano, Locatelli, or any sharp Italian hard cheese.

I've just acquired some stelline (pasta) partially on the grounds that it was going ridiculously cheaply.
I often make decisions based on such criteria: sometimes, things are so cheap that you've got nothing to lose (assuming they're still safe to eat).

My first thought was to use it for a mac-and-cheese, though they are rather tiny for that. It'd be more like forkfuls of cheese, though that's not the worst thing in the world.

Sadly and oddly its very difficult to find escarole in the UK...
That's odd as it's as easy to grow as any similar lettuce type plant.

I guess you could sub romaine, or swiss chard, or maybe rocket (so long as it's not too bitter).